Previous Page
PCLinuxOS Magazine
Article List
Next Page

PCLinuxOS Family Member Spotlight: jlane01

In his own words

What is your name/username?
My name is Justin and my username is jlane01.

How old are you?
I am 42 years old.

Are you married, single?
I am divorced, but still live in the same house with my ex. We're still the best of friends and neither one of us wanted to give up our house or our pets, and we couldn't afford our house on our own so we made it work.

How about Kids, Grandkids?
No kids that I know of yet.

Do you have pets, what is your favorite?
We are bird lovers, we have chickens, turkeys, peafowl, pigeons, doves, a couple of ducks, a couple of pheasants, and a guinea fowl.

Are you retired, still working and if working, what do you do?
I currently work in the insurance industry as a commercial underwriter. Not very exciting, but it does pay the bills. One of my jobs was also being my office's IT person. I've learned a lot over the years from breaking my system and from being my office's IT person have learned enough to get myself into trouble.

Where abouts do you call home? What is it like? IE: weather, scenery
I've lived in the northeast my whole life. Born in Massachusetts, lived in Sullivan County NY for many years, currently live in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania seems to be the perfect blend of cold winters but not too cold and warm summers, but not too hot. We still get all four seasons, even if some of them are a week or two in length. My favorite seasons are spring and fall.

Where did you go to school and what is your education level?
I've been up and down the east coast during my college education. I started at Unity College in Maine and ended up at West Virginia State College in West Virginia. I ended up with a BA in English Literature.

What kind of things you like doing? hobbies, travel, fishing, camping?
I used to camp a lot in my younger days, but have gotten away from that as I got older. Now I prefer a comfy bed to sleep in. I like to read a lot of books and also spend time taking care of my birds. I started writing poetry back in college and have started writing again after taking a break from it for a few years. I also enjoy tinkering around with computers and Linux distros. I used to be a distro hopper and have played around with most of the major distros. I also enjoy making both wine and beer in my spare time. I think homemade is better than store bought, as you know exactly what you put into it. It does take practice, but practice makes perfect.

Why and when did you start using Linux?
I started using Linux back around 2006 when an IT friend of mine suggested that I try out Puppy Linux when a computer died and I needed to get files off of it. From there I went to Ubuntu, and then there was no stopping me. I was distro hopping like crazy for many years, but have finally stopped and settled on Slackware, PCLinuxOS, and most recently Opensuse leap (all installed on separate hard drives that I've collected, as I'm way to lazy to try to figure out dual booting).

PCLinuxOS Family Member Spotlight is an exclusive, monthly column by youcantoo, featuring PCLinuxOS forum members. This column will allow "the rest of us" to get to know our forum family members better, and will give those featured an opportunity to share their PCLinuxOS story with the rest of the world.

If you would like to be featured in PCLinuxOS Family Member Spotlight, please send a private message to youcantoo, parnote or Meemaw in the PCLinuxOS forum expressing your interest.

Previous Page              Top              Next Page